DVD Reviews

DVD For Sale From Amazon.Com
DVD Release Dates
Movie Posters At Allposters.com
DVD Special Sales
Video Release Dates

[ Jump to: Image Review | Audio Review |Extras Review | Menu Review | Final Grades | Back To A Guide To Current DVD | ]

Currentfilm.com Review:

"Soul Food" was originally a 1997 film by director George Tillman, Jr. that followed the conflicts, loves and laughs shared by one large African-American family. "Soul Food" remains a genuinely sweet, charming and quite enjoyable comedy/drama with a lot of heart and great performances. The movie was terrific, and execs decided to continue the adventures of the three sisters of the family in a series for Showtime that ended up running from 2000-2004.

The events of the series started up several months after the events of the film. The second season starts with "The Aftermath", a look at the recovery of the main characters after the tragic car accident that ended "Take Me to the River", the final episode of the first season. The series continues to provide an engaging and intelligent look at the struggles and joys of a family who is there for one another through conflicts and success. The performances are also excellent, especially Vanessa Williams, Nicole Ari Parker and Malinda Williams as the three sisters, who are often the focus of the series.

During the show's run, it became one of the most successful shows ever featuring a mostly African-American cast. The series won a number of NAACP awards, as well as an Emmy nom.

21. 2- 1 27 Jun 01 The Aftermath
22. 2- 2 4 Jul 01 Welcome Home
23. 2- 3 11 Jul 01 Who Do You Know?
24. 2- 4 18 Jul 01 God Bless the Child
25. 2- 5 25 Jul 01 Sex and Money
26. 2- 6 1 Aug 01 Come Back for the Comeback
27. 2- 7 8 Aug 01 Games People Play
28. 2- 8 15 Aug 01 Life Lessons
29. 2- 9 22 Aug 01 The Root
30. 2-10 29 Aug 01 Never Can Say Goodbye
31. 2-11 5 Sep 01 I'm Afraid of Americans
32. 2-12 12 Sep 01 Running As Fast As I Can
33. 2-13 19 Sep 01 Fly Away Home
34. 2-14 26 Sep 01 If You Don't Know Me By Now...
35. 2-15 9 Jan 02 From Dreams to Nightmares
36. 2-16 16 Jan 02 A Taste of Justice
37. 2-17 23 Jan 02 Help
38. 2-18 30 Jan 02 Lovers and Other Strangers
39. 2-19 6 Feb 02 In Transition
40. 2-20 13 Feb 02 This Must Be Love

Note: Viewers should note that some episodes are edited from their original network versions (my guess is that these are the syndicated versions that are apparently playing now on BET) and some music has been changed from the original broadcast.


VIDEO: "Soul Food" is presented by Paramount Home Entertainment in 1.33:1 full-frame. The series looked quite good here, with images that remained crisp and clear throughout the majority of the running time. While some slight instances of edge enhancement and artifacting were spotted, the picture generally looked clean and clear, with the elements used appearing in excellent condition, as one would expect from a recent series. Colors looked warm and well-saturated, wtih no smearing or other issues.

SOUND: "Soul Food" is presented in Dolby Digital stereo. The audio quality is perfectly fine, with crisp, bassy music (although some of the music is apparently replaced from the original tunes, likely due to rights issues) and clear dialogue.

EXTRAS: Nothing.

Final Thoughts: "Soul Food" the series is a highly enjoyable continuation of the film, with likable characters, solid writing and very good performances. The DVD offers nothing in the way of extras, but good audio/video quality. Recommended for fans.

DVD Information

Soul Food: Season 2
Paramount Home Entertainment
16 hours/50 minutes
Subtitles: English
Rated R
Dual Layer:Yes
Available At Amazon.com: Soul Food: Season 2 DVD,Soul Food: Season 1 DVD